Roadmap to Awakenment

with Shastri Deborah Zarate

April 16th—May 15th

Date details +
  • $110 Program Price
  • $130 Patron Price
Room: Second Floor Shrineroom

Roadmap To Awakenment

It is said that the Buddha taught 84,000 collections of dharmas - a poetic way of saying there are infinite ways to describe and practice the Buddha Dharma. There are vast amounts of teachings in Buddhism that detail the different views, stages, practices, paths and spiritual levels of the Dharma. The scope of this can be confusing.

How to understand all of these teachings, where to place them, where to begin and how to make them personal is a daunting task. One straightforward way for us to approach this is through the teachings of three turnings of the Wheel of Dharma and its relationship to the three vehicles of Tibetan Buddhism. In Tibetan Buddhism, the journey to awakenment is divided into three major stages, called yanas or vehicles. These correspond to the developmental needs of practitioners at various stages of the path. This course will be an introduction to key themes of the view, meditation, and conduct of each vehicle with the goal of providing some context and ground to help us understand how to approach the Shambhala Buddhist Path to Awakenment.